Mission and Purpose

The University of California, Berkeley, Black Staff and Faculty Organization (BSFO) was developed in 1979 to address the issues and concerns unique to employees at the University of California, Berkeley. The mission of BSFO is to create a climate which is conducive to the well-being and professional development aspirations of Black staff, faculty and students. 

Goals

  1. Strengthen relationships among Black staff, faculty and students as well as campus community and local community.
  2. Encourage the recruitment and retention of Black staff, faculty and students.
  3. Enhance staff advancement and career development opportunities.

Objectives

  1. Develop supportive systems and programs that enhance the educational, social and professional opportunities for Black staff, faculty and students.
  2. Establish an internal communication network among faculty, staff and students (e.g., calendar, newsletter, etc.).
  3. Coordinate activities to facilitate Black staff, faculty and student interaction (e.g., organization socials).
  4. Publicize relevant research and publications concerning the status of Black employees.
  5. Generate financial resources to sustain the activities of the organization.

Sponsor

Sidalia Reel, Director of Staff Diversity Initiatives

Contact

Email us at bsfo2@berkeley.edu

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Like us on Facebook

Executive Board

Amber Bundy-Davis 
Chair
Abundydavis@berkeley.edu

Fela Thomas 
Vice-Chair
fthomas@berkeley.edu

Robin Mills
Past Chair
robinmills@uhs.berkeley.edu

Kristian Cloyd
Communications Chair
kcloyd@berkeley.edu

Loyrisha Aucoin
Treasurer
laucoin@berkeley.edu

Talmeisa “Tally” Ogans
Membership and Records Chair
togans@berkeley.edu

Dionne Teasley
Steering Committee Member
dteasley@berkeley.edu

Meckell G Milburn
Steering Committee Member
mmilburn@berkeley.edu

Norton Mitchell
Steering Committee Member
nortonm@berkeley.edu

Sharay Pinero
Steering Committee Member
spinero@berkeley.edu