Berkeley Administrative Management Professionals (AMP formerly ABOG)

Mission and Purpose

Berkeley Administrative Management Professionals (AMP) is an organization of business officers from academic departments and research organizations. Formerly known as the Academic Business Officers Group or ABOG, it is one of the oldest staff organizations on campus, and was established as a system-wide group in 1968. The Berkeley chapter, with about 150 members and affiliates, is the only group of its kind that brings together the staff leadership of academic and research units through voluntary association.


Our specific goals are to improve communication among teaching, research, service, and administrative offices of the Berkeley campus; provide a forum for discussion; study administrative problems for the purpose of finding ways to improve and simplify operations at all levels; provide the administration with a broad-based staff resource that is closely involved with the teaching and research mission; support our members by sharing best practices; and promote and recognize the professional identity of department and unit administrators and managers.


Catherine Koshland, Interim Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost


Sandy Richmond - Chair
Director of Administration, AGES
AfAm, GWS, Ethnic Studies

Visit our website.

Management Council

Elena Wen Jiang - Chair Elect
CFO for Vice Chancellor of Administration

Denise Cronin - Past ChairDirector of Education Operations, School of Public Health

Holli Griffin Strauss
Assistant Dean Administration & Finance, Social Sciences

Andrew Park - Systemwide Representative
Manager, Physical Education

Shirleyrae Reed - Systemwide Representative
Associate Director of Operations, Graduate School of Education 

Faith Lawton Enemark - AAC Representative
Department Manager, Rhetoric, Film & Media, and History of Art

Henry Chan
Contracts & Grants Manager, SHARE

Kim Eastman
Chief Administrative Officer
Department of Chemical Engineering

Catalina Estrada
Manager, Material Science & Engineering

Holli Griffin Strauss
Assistant Dean Administration & Finance, Social Sciences 

Joanne Straley
Manager, Plant & Microbial Biology

Brian Underwood
Manager, Mathematics