Alianza

Mission and Purpose

The Alianza Staff Association, a Chican@/Latin@ staff organization at the University of California, Berkeley is dedicated to enhancing professional opportunities, increasing awareness and active participation in campus priority issues, and providing a supportive network with an emphasis on Chican@/Latin@ staff members.

The following Alianza goals serve as a framework for projects and initiatives that are the core mission of our organization.

Goals

  • Maintain a communication network for Chican@/Latin@ staff to promote a respectful and united community to help empower staff at all levels
  • Provide access to programs that enhance skill development, job information, mentoring, and employment advancement for staff
  • Promote supportive systems and programs that enhances educational and professional opportunities
  • Act as an educational resource on Chicano/Latino issues relating to campus policies, employment, and academic concerns
  • Sponsor at least two cultural events annually

General Meetings

You are invited to attend our monthly meetings, become involved in specific projects, or attend our social events to see comunidad en acción and enhance your campus network. Alianza General Meetings are held between 12pm-1pm on the 3rd Tuesday of every month (in 554 Barrows). Meeting dates for 2018 are:

  • April 17
  • May 15
  • June 19
  • July 17
  • Aug 21
  • September 18
  • October 16
  • November 20
  • December 18

Join us!

25th Anniversary

In 2017, Alianza celebrated its 25th year on the Berkeley campus. Check out our anniversary video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s0GSqzfU8hg&t=10s

Sponsor

Sidalia Reel, Director of Staff Diversity Initiatives

Contact

Fredda Olivares
olivares@berkeley.edu

Email: alianza@berkeley.edu

Like us on Facebook

Subscribe to our newsletter

Connect with us on LinkedIn

Officers

Fredda Olivares
Co-chair
olivares@berkeley.edu
(510) 664-7739

Juan Berumen
Co-chair
jgberumen@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-0518

Karen Aguilar
Career & Professional Development Chair
kaguilar@berkeley.edu

Katherine Madrigal
Communications Chair
k.madrigal@berkeley.edu

Jorge Martinez
Diversity Chair
jgmartinez@berkeley.edu

Vladimir Foronda
Finance Chair
vforonda@berkeley.edu

Isela Pena-Rager
Social/Membership Chair

Alejandra Escoto
Past cycle Co-chair
aescoto@berkeley.edu

Javier Gonzalez
Past-cycle Co-chair
javierg@berkeley.edu