Alianza

Alianza at UC Berkeley

Mission and Purpose

The Alianza Staff Organization is committed to community building, professional development, and promotion of Chicanx/Latinx staff at UC Berkeley

Goals

  • Maintain communication among Chicanx/Latinx staff to promote a united community and help empower staff at all levels
  • Provide staff access to programs that enhance skill development, job information, mentoring, and employment advancement
  • Act as a resource on Chicanx/Latinx issues relating to campus policies, employment, and academic concerns

General Meetings

Alianza monthly meetings are held between 12 - 1 pm on the 3rd Tuesday of the month in 554 Barrows Hall unless otherwise noted. Meeting dates are available on our calendar: http://bit.ly/alianzacalendar

2021 Calendar

  • January 19, 2021
  • February 16, 2021 
  • March 16, 2021 
  • April 20, 2021
  • May 18, 2021
  • June 15, 2021 - Summer Break / Prep for Fall 2021
  • July 20, 2021 - Summer Break / Prep for Fall 2021
  • August 17, 2021 - Summer Break / Prep for Fall 2021
  • September 21, 2021
  • October 19, 2021
  • November 16, 2021
  • December 21, 2021

25th Anniversary

In 2017, Alianza celebrated its 25th year on the UC Berkeley campus. Read the Daily Cal article about our celebration and watch our special anniversary video for more information.

Alianza Newsletter Submissions 

Do you have news, opportunities, or events that would be of interest to the wider Berkeley Latinx community? Let us know by submitting the item for inclusion in the Alianza newsletter.

Sponsor

Lasana Hotep, Director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging

Alianza and the Chancellor photo

Contact

Submit content for our newsletter!

Email us: alianza@berkeley.edu

Subscribe to our newsletter

Connect with us on LinkedIn

Like us on Facebook

View our newsletter archive

Officers

Fredda Olivares
Chair
olivares@berkeley.edu
(510) 664-7739

Kat Madrigal Cheng
Chair-Elect
k.madrigal@berkeley.edu

Karina Saravia-Butler
Communications Co-Chair
saravia@berkeley.edu

Brenda Illescas
Communications Co-Chair
billescas@berkeley.edu

Jessica De Anda
Diversity and Advocacy Chair
jdeanda@berkeley.edu

Ulises Serrano 
Community and Social Engagement Co-Chair
ulises.serrano@berkeley.edu

Jessica Martin Gonzalez
Community and Social Engagement Co-Chair
jessica_mg@berkeley.edu

Anita Botello Santoyo
Recorder / Historian
abotello@berkeley.edu

Jose Pena
Finance Chair
jose.pena@berkeley.edu