Alianza

Mission and Purpose

The Alianza Staff Association is committed to community building, professional development and promotion of Chicanx/Latinx staff at UC Berkeley!

Goals

  • Maintain communication among Chicanx/Latinx staff to promote a united community and help empower staff at all levels
  • Provide staff access to programs that enhance skill development, job information, mentoring, and employment advancement
  • Promote systems and programs that enhances educational and professional opportunities
  • Act as a resource on Chicanx/Latinx issues relating to campus policies, employment, and academic concerns

General Meetings

You are invited to attend our monthly meetings, held between 12pm—1pm on the 3rd Tuesday of every month in 554 Barrows Hall. Meeting dates are:

FALL 2018

  • April 17
  • May 15
  • June 19
  • July 17
  • August 21
  • September 18
  • October 16 (Location Change: 242 Cesar Chavez)
  • November 20- Meeting Canceled
  • December 18- Holiday Potluck! 

SPRING 2019

  • January 15
  • February 19
  • March 19
  • April 16
  • May 21

SUMMER 2019

  • June 18
  • July 16
  • August 20

Upcoming Events

Join the the Alianza Staff Organization for a holiday potluck! If you are interested in bringing something, sign up here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1gctH9fe2mkjl_6MVWjWbE40zRzm0NrjP...

Alianza Staff Organization

25th Anniversary

In 2017, Alianza celebrated its 25th year on the Berkeley campus. Check out the Daily Cal article about our celebration and our special anniversary video.

Get More Involved

Interested in getting more involved? Join one of our four subcommittees: 1) Events, 2) Advocacy, 3) Professional Development, and 4) Communication. Sign up here.

Help us highlight the Latinx community at Berkeley! Share recent Latinx staff accomplishments (such as an award or promotion) with us and we will share it in our newsletter: http://bit.ly/latinxhighlights

Sponsor

Sidalia Reel, Director of Staff Diversity Initiatives

Contact

Email us: alianza@berkeley.edu

Like us on Facebook

Subscribe to our newsletter

Connect with us on LinkedIn

Officers

Fredda Olivares
Co-chair
olivares@berkeley.edu
(510) 664-7739

Juan Berumen
Co-chair
jgberumen@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-0518

Kat Madrigal Cheng
Communications Chair
k.madrigal@berkeley.edu

Karen Aguilar
Career & Professional Development Chair
kaguilar@berkeley.edu

Jorge Martinez
Diversity Chair
jgmartinez@berkeley.edu

Vladimir Foronda
Finance Chair
vforonda@berkeley.edu

Isela Pena-Rager
Social/Membership Chair

Alejandra Escoto
Past cycle Co-chair
aescoto@berkeley.edu

Javier Gonzalez
Past-cycle Co-chair
javierg@berkeley.edu