Alianza

Alianza at UC Berkeley

Mission and Purpose

The Alianza Staff Association is committed to community building, professional development and promotion of Chicanx/Latinx staff at UC Berkeley

Goals

  • Maintain communication among Chicanx/Latinx staff to promote a united community and help empower staff at all levels
  • Provide staff access to programs that enhance skill development, job information, mentoring, and employment advancement
  • Promote systems and programs that enhances educational and professional opportunities
  • Act as a resource on Chicanx/Latinx issues relating to campus policies, employment, and academic concerns

General Meetings

Members are invited to attend our monthly meetings, held between 12pm—1pm on the 3rd Tuesday of every month in 554 Barrows Hall, unless otherwise noted. Meeting dates are available on our calendar: http://bit.ly/alianzacalendar

2019

  • September 17, 2019 - Latinx Heritage Month Celebration at Alumni House
  • October 15, 2019
  • November 19, 2019
  • December 17, 2019

2020

  • January 21, 2020
  • February 18, 2020
  • March 17, 2020
  • April 21, 2020
  • May 19, 2020
  • June 16, 2020
  • July 21, 2020
  • August 18, 2020
  • September 15, 2020
  • October 20, 2020
  • November 17, 2020
  • December 15, 2020

25th Anniversary

In 2017, Alianza celebrated its 25th year on the Berkeley campus. Read the Daily Cal article about our celebration and watch our special anniversary video for more information.

Get More Involved

Interested in getting more involved? Join one of our four subcommittees: 1) Events, 2) Advocacy, 3) Professional Development, and 4) Communication. Committment can be as big or as small as you'd like. Sign up here

Help us highlight the Latinx community at Berkeley! Share recent Latinx staff accomplishments (such as awards, promotions, retirement, etc.) with us and we will share it in our newsletter: http://bit.ly/latinxhighlights

Sponsor

Sidalia Reel, Director of Staff Diversity Initiatives

Alianza and the Chancellor photo

Contact

Email us: alianza@berkeley.edu

Subscribe to our newsletter

Connect with us on LinkedIn

Like us on Facebook

View our newsletter archive

Officers

Fredda Olivares
Co-chair
olivares@berkeley.edu
(510) 664-7739

Kat Madrigal Cheng
Communications Chair
k.madrigal@berkeley.edu

Karen Aguilar
Career & PD Chair
kaguilar@berkeley.edu

Jorge Martinez
Diversity Chair
jgmartinez@berkeley.edu

Vladimir Foronda
Finance Chair
vforonda@berkeley.edu

Isela Pena-Rager
Social/Membership Chair
isela.penarager@berkeley.edu

Javier Gonzalez
Past-cycle Co-chair
javierg@berkeley.edu