Alianza at UC Berkeley

Alianza at UC Berkeley

Alianza at UC Berkeley

Mission and Purpose

The Alianza Staff Organization is committed to community building, professional development, and promotion of Chicanx/Latinx staff at UC Berkeley

Goals

  • Maintain communication among Chicanx/Latinx staff to promote a united community and help empower staff at all levels
  • Provide staff access to programs that enhance skill development, job information, mentoring, and employment advancement
  • Act as a resource on Chicanx/Latinx issues relating to campus policies, employment, and academic concerns

General Meetings

Alianza monthly meetings are held between 12 - 1 pm on the 3rd Tuesday of the month. Meeting details and Zoom links are available on our calendar: bit.ly/alianzacalendar

2022 Calendar

  • January 18, 2022 - Mindful Moments in the Workplace w/ Be Well at Work
  • February 24, 2022 -The Guide to Investing in the UC Retirement Savings Program w/Laura Crymble, Fidelity
  • March 18, 2022 - In-Person Alianza Social Event @ Cornerstone Berkeley from 5:00 - 8:00 PM
  • April 19, 2022 - Succession Planning Framework and Toolkit
  • May 17, 2022 - Alianza Steering Committee Election Q&A
  • June 21, 2022 - No Meeting (Summer Break / Prep)
  • July 19, 2021 - No Meeting (Summer Break / Prep)
  • August 16, 2022 - No Meeting (Summer Break / Prep)
  • September 15, 2022
  • October 18, 2022
  • November 15, 2022
  • December 20, 2022

Alianza Newsletter Submissions

Do you have news, opportunities, or events that would be of interest to the wider Berkeley Latinx community? Let us know by submitting the item for inclusion in the Alianza newsletter.

25th Anniversary

In 2017, Alianza celebrated its 25th year on the UC Berkeley campus. Read the Daily Cal article about our celebration and watch our special anniversary video for more information.

Sponsor

Lasana Hotep, Director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging

Alianza and the Chancellor photo

Contact

Submit content for our newsletter!

Email us: alianza@berkeley.edu

Subscribe to our newsletter

Connect with us on LinkedIn

Like us on Facebook

View our newsletter archive

Officers

Kat Madrigal Cheng
Chair
k.madrigal@berkeley.edu

Isela Peña-Rager
Chair-Elect
isela.penarager@berkeley.edu

Karina Saravia-Butler
Communications Co-Chair
saravia@berkeley.edu

Brenda Illescas
Communications Co-Chair
billescas@berkeley.edu

Jessica De Anda
Diversity and Advocacy Chair
jdeanda@berkeley.edu

Wendy Viveros 
Community and Social Engagement Co-Chair
wviveros@berkeley.edu

Anita Botello Santoyo
Recorder / Historian
abotello@berkeley.edu

Jose Pena
Finance Chair
jose.pena@berkeley.edu

Fredda Olivares
Past Chair
olivares@berkeley.edu