Alianza at UC Berkeley

Alianza at UC Berkeley

Alianza at UC Berkeley

Mission and Purpose

The Alianza Staff Organization is committed to community building, professional development, and promotion of Latinx staff at UC Berkeley.


  • Maintain communication among Latinx staff to promote a united community and help empower staff at all levels.
  • Provide staff access to programs that enhance skill development, job information, mentoring, and employment advancement.
  • Act as a resource on Latinx issues relating to campus policies, employment, and academic concerns.

General Meetings

Alianza monthly meetings are held between 12 - 1 pm on the 3rd Tuesday of the month. Meeting details and Zoom links are available on our calendar:



Upcoming Events

Alianza Newsletter Submissions 

Do you have news, opportunities, or events that would be of interest to the wider Berkeley Latinx community? Let us know by submitting the item for inclusion in the Alianza newsletter.

Latinx Initiatives at UC Berkeley

Alianza Steering Committee

Past Steering Committee Members

Wendy Viveros
Community and Social Engagement Co-Chair, 2021-23

Esperanza Bernal
Chair Elect, 2022-23

Maya Felipa Varian
Communications Chair, 2022-23

Alianza and the Chancellor photo


Ways to Connect

Submit content for our newsletter!

View our newsletter archive

Email us:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Connect with us on LinkedIn

Like us on Facebook

Steering Committee

Interim Chair
Liliana Iglesias (she/her/hers)

Joanna Morales (she/her/hers)

Communications Chairs
Gina Garcia (she/her/hers)

Diversity and Advocacy Co-Chairs

Michael Cervantes (he/him/his/el)

Nathalie Muñoz (she/they)

Community and Social Engagement Co-Chairs

Johnny Morales Arellano (he/him/his)

Marjorie Ensor (she/her/ella)

Yesenia Mendoza Muller (she/her/hers)

Recorder / Historian

Yadira Antonio (she/her/ella)

Jessie Rosales (he/him/his)

Finance Chair

Adrianne Mann (she/her/ella)

Alianza Representative, Latinx-Thriving Institution Initiative Steering Committee

Karina Saravia-Butler (she/her/ella)

Past Chair

Isela Peña-Rager (she/her/ella)