Alianza

Alianza at UC Berkeley

Mission and Purpose

The Alianza Staff Organization is committed to community building, professional development, and promotion of Chicanx/Latinx staff at UC Berkeley

Goals

  • Maintain communication among Chicanx/Latinx staff to promote a united community and help empower staff at all levels
  • Provide staff access to programs that enhance skill development, job information, mentoring, and employment advancement
  • Act as a resource on Chicanx/Latinx issues relating to campus policies, employment, and academic concerns

General Meetings

Alianza monthly meetings are held between 12 - 1 pm on the 3rd Tuesday of the month in 554 Barrows Hall unless otherwise noted. Meeting dates are available on our calendar: http://bit.ly/alianzacalendar

2020 Calendar

  • January 21, 2020
  • February 18, 2020
  • March 17, 2020 - Meeting has been canceled in an effort to limit coronavirus (COVID-19) risk on campus. 
  • April 21, 2020
  • May 19, 2020
  • June 16, 2020
  • July 21, 2020
  • August 18, 2020
  • September 23, 2020 - Latinx Heritage Month event series begins
  • October 20, 2020
  • November 17, 2020
  • December 15, 2020

25th Anniversary

In 2017, Alianza celebrated its 25th year on the UC Berkeley campus. Read the Daily Cal article about our celebration and watch our special anniversary video for more information.

Get Involved

Join one of our four subcommittees: 1) Events, 2) Advocacy, 3) Professional Development, and 4) Communication. Commitment can be as big or as small as you'd like. Sign up here

Help us highlight the Latinx community at Berkeley: Share recent Latinx staff accomplishments (such as awards, promotions, retirement, etc.) with us and we will share it in our newsletter: http://bit.ly/latinxhighlights

Sponsor

Lasana Hotep, Director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging

Alianza and the Chancellor photo

Contact

Email us: alianza@berkeley.edu

Subscribe to our newsletter

Connect with us on LinkedIn

Like us on Facebook

View our newsletter archive

Officers

Fredda Olivares
Chair
olivares@berkeley.edu
(510) 664-7739

Kat Madrigal Cheng
Chair-Elect
k.madrigal@berkeley.edu

Brenda Illescas
Communications Co-Chair
billescas@berkeley.edu

Karina Saravia-Butler
Communications Co-Chair
saravia@berkeley.edu

Jessica De Anda
Diversity and Advocacy Chair
jdeanda@berkeley.edu

Ulises Serrano 
Community and Social Engagement Co-Chair
ulises.serrano@berkeley.edu

Jessica Martin Gonzalez
Community and Social Engagement Co-Chair
jessica_mg@berkeley.edu

Anita Botello Santoyo
Recorder / Historian
abotello@berkeley.edu

Jose Pena
Finance Chair
jose.pena@berkeley.edu